Wrestling with the Devil: A Prison Memoir, 2018

Secure the Base, Making Africa Visible in the Globe, 2016

Birth of a Dream Weaver: A Writer’s Awakening, 2016

Globalectics: Theory and the Politics of Knowing, 2014

In the Name of the Mother: Reflections on Writers and Empire, 2013

In the House of the Interpreter: A Memoir, 2012

Dreams in a Time of War: a Childhood Memoir, 2010

Something Torn and New: An African Renaissance, 2009

Wizard of the Crow, 2006

Mũrogi wa Kagogo (Wizard of the Crow), 2004

Penpoints, Gunpoints and Dreams: The Performance of Literature and Power in Post-Colonial Africa, 1998

Moving the Centre: The Struggle for Cultural Freedom,1993

Bathitoora ya Njamba Nene (Njamba Nene’s Pistol), 1990 (children’s book)

Matigari, 1989

Njamba Nene na Chibu King’ang’i (Njamba Nene and the Cruel Chief ), 1988 (children’s book)

Matigari ma Njiruungi, 1986

Njamba Nene na Mbaathi i Mathagu (Njamba Nene and the Flying Bus), 1986 (children’s book)

Writing against Neo-Colonialism, 1986

Mother, Sing For Me, 1986

Decolonising the Mind: The Politics of Language in African Literature, 1986

Barrel of a Pen: Resistance to Repression in Neo-Colonial Kenya, 1983

Devil on the Cross (Caitaani mutharaba-Ini), 1982

Detained: A Writer’s Prison Diary, 1981

Education for a National Culture, 1981

Writers in Politics: Essays, 1981

Caitaani mutharaba-Ini (Devil on the Cross), 1980

Petals of Blood, 1977

I Will Marry When I Want (Ngaahika Ndeenda: Ithaako ria ngerekano), 1977 (play; with Ngũgĩ wa Mirii)

The Trial of Dedan Kimathi, 1976 (play; with Micere Githae Mugo and Njaka)

Secret Lives, and Other Stories, 1976,

A Meeting in the Dark, 1974

Homecoming: Essays on African and Caribbean Literature, Culture, and Politics, 1972

This Time Tomorrow, c. 1970 (three plays)

A Grain of Wheat, 1967

The River Between, 1965

Weep Not, Child, 1964

The Black Hermit, 1963 (play)